4 Replies Latest reply on Jan 14, 2020 8:43 AM by Lisha Penn

Seeking Port of Entry when George Sherlowsky immigrated to US

Rudolph Sherlowsky Newbie

I am just beginning to research the history of my Grandfather, George R. Sherlowsky. According to the records I have been able to access thus far, I have found that he immigrated to the U.S. from Europe, with the immigration year being 1915. I do not know what port of entry he arrived at or what port he started his journey from. The 1920 census indicates that he was born in Poland and also have a family document showing he studied to be a blacksmith in Germany before heading to the U.S.

• Re: Seeking Port of Entry when George Sherlowsky immigrated to US
          Henry Rosenberg Tracker

I have done a search on familysearch.org. There are 2 George Sherlowsky's. One was born in Poland and immigrated in 1915 and lived in Minnesota. The other is George R or George who was born in Germany, immigrated in 1921 and lived in Wisconsin. Is the first one definitely your relative? Also, during WW1, Poland was overrun and may have been considered Germany during the war so that may confuse things for you or explain why he was trained in Germany.

If you have more information it may help. Occasionally if you have other family members names you can back trace information.Sometimes this research takes time. I have done some for my and my wife's family on and off for years.

BTW, The Ports of entry were New York,Boston, Philadelphia,Baltimore and New Orleans. You may be stuck searching each one.

Good luck,

Henry

Rudolph Sherlowsky Newbie

Hello Henry,