5 Replies Latest reply on Feb 25, 2019 8:58 AM by Jason Atkinson

Mystery WW1 Image

Eric Cooper Newbie

My name is Eric Cooper, and I am an intern working at the Livingston County War Museum in Pontiac, IL. I am currently creating an online database for the museum that will house pictures, videos, and audio files of all the items in the museum's collection.

Attached is a photo of a WW1 veteran who served in the U.S. Army with the Headquarters Company, 34th Infantry, 7th Infantry Division. He arrived in France on August, 17th, 1918 and also served with occupation forces. Three of the ribbons I have been able to identify with one exception, the ribbon on the bottom right.

As you can see, it has a very unique and unusual pattern that does not repeat. I have checked for ribbons awarded for individual battles and campaigns and ribbons awarded from foreign militaries to no avail. I was hoping that someone here may be able to help me identify it or point me in the right direction. Thanks!

• Re: Mystery WW1 Image
          Elliot Schneider Scout

Eric,

This maybe a state issued ww1 service ribbon. I know several states did this back then. Not sure if they have a state medal identification book.

Elliot Schneider

1 of 1 people found this helpful
            Dennis Whitehead Newbie

The World War I Museum in Kansas City might have service ribbon information. Another long shot would be the Institute of Heraldry in DoD.

1 of 1 people found this helpful
              Rebecca Collier Ranger

Dear Mr. Cooper,

Thank you for posting your request on History Hub!

We searched the citations for the 7th Infantry Division as well as several listings of medals and ribbons, but were unable to locate any information on the ribbon in question.