3 Replies Latest reply on Jan 29, 2019 11:03 AM by National Archives Catalog

How to get started transcribing?

Bart Dailey Newbie

I am new here, but very excited to get started transcribing. However, being a newbie I am completely unfamiliar with the process. Would someone be so kind as to point me in the direction of some methodology or a perhaps a tutorial/instructions? NOTE: I am very computer literate, just not familiar with the process. Do I download the items and transcribe them to a word doc and upload? Please advise.

• Re: How to get started transcribing?
          Natalie Buck Newbie

I started transcribing audio interviews for a few grad students years ago, and then I saw an article from a blog talking about the Smithsonian needing volunteer transcribers. They have a great FAQ page, instructional pages, and other resources - - - but I think all their rules/requests only apply to their projects. Take a look around this site at the Communities and you might find projects and more information.

1 person found this helpful
            Melissa Himes Adventurer