1 Reply Latest reply on Dec 12, 2018 12:56 PM by Alan Walker

Before the National Archives, who owned the Matthew Brady Photo Collection?

Douglas Milstead Newbie

This is my first time on this forum; it looks like I might have inserted my question into the subject line. Prior to the National Archives attaining many of Mathew Brady's civil war photos, who owned them and were reproductions/enlargements available for purchase?  I have recently acquired several photographs that I was told were purchased between 1910 and 1920 I'm looking for help in finding where a group of Mathew Brady civil war prints that I have acquired might have come from.  I was told that they were printed circa 1915, but I am by no means certain of that.  It's my understanding the National Archives did not come to own many of the Brady negatives until the 1940s.  I guess many of the negatives were in the hands of private collectors and public institutions up until that time.      Does anyone know if the prints from these negatives were available for purchase in the early 20th century?  The group that I have measure about 9" x 7", roughly.  Thanks very much for your help.

Doug

• Re: Before the National Archives, who owned the Matthew Brady Photo Collection?
          Alan Walker Tracker

Dear Mr. Milstead,

Thank you for contacting History Hub. The following reply comes from archivist Nicholas Natanson in the Still Pictures unit at the National Archives at College Park, Maryland:

“You're correct about our Brady negatives coming to National Archives in the 1940's, but the plates were actually in federal government hands for many decades before that.