2 Replies Latest reply on Jul 16, 2018 12:24 PM by Peter Greulich

Is there enough information provided in these references to find the material in the National Archives?

Peter Greulich Newbie

This is my first time posting here, so just point me a different direction if applicable.

The following information was provided by an author. Is there enough provided to actually find this referenced material?

(1) Press Release, ICC, October 22, 1937, NA RG 59

(2) Letter, Decker to Taylor, May 26, 1939, Department of Justice, War Division, Economic Warfare Section, NA RG 60

(3) Chevalerie to J.T. Wilson, August 4, 1939, Department of Justice, War Division, Economic Warfare Section, NA RG 60.

Thanks

- Pete

• Re: Is there enough information provided in these references to find the material in the National Archives?
          Jason Atkinson Wayfarer

The short answer is that it may be possible, but those citations present some challenges as they leave out information that we would ideally have.  See here for the guidance NARA gives on citing records in our holdings.  https://www.archives.gov/files/publications/general-info-leaflets/17-citing-records.pdf

However if that is all you have, I would encourage trying anyway. 

In regard to (1):  It is unclear what "ICC" means in this context.  If it refers to the Interstate Commerce Commission, you might have better luck checking Record Group 134 Records of the Interstate Commerce Commission [ICC].  Here is a listing of all series in RG 134 at the National Archives at College Park (Archives II).

In regard to your numbers (2) and (3):  The dates given for the latter two documents are interesting given that NARA's authority files indicate that the Economic Warfare Section was first formed at the Economic Warfare Unit in 1942. 

https://catalog.archives.gov/id/10450062