7 Replies Latest reply on Jun 29, 2018 2:46 PM by Jason Atkinson

how many pages is in a folder, compared to a box?

mwilliams Newbie

I am new to researching at the National Archives, and noticed an item that is contained in one folder. I am referring to folders of a textual item.

Message was edited by: Matthew Williams

• Re: how many pages is in a folder, compared to a box?
          Andrew Begley Adventurer

Dear Mr. Williams,

Thank you for posting your question to History Hub. The number of pages in a folder can vary quite a bit--anywhere from one to several hundred. Standard archival boxes can hold 1,000-1,500 pages, while larger Records Center boxes can hold 3,000-3,500. If you are interested in requesting copies of records in a specific folder, I would suggest emailing the National Archives facility that holds those records. The staff there can give you a page count when providing a quote for reproduction.

For more information on getting started with research at the National Archives, you may also want to take a look at https://www.archives.gov/research/start

Best of luck with your research!

2 of 2 people found this helpful
            Michael Tomko Scout

I would suggest being focused and strategic in ordering the records which

may provide the information. Request the SF135, Record Transmittal and Receipt

Form which lists the records by Item and Description for the transfer or accession.

You could also ask for a possible folder name, and request only 1 folder.

I requested a Vietnam MIA folder, for an MDR, and chose only 1 folder.

There are more. If the material is classified you may have to submit a FOIA or MDR.

A Mandatory Declassification Review could be performed on just 1 folder, and

after 1 year without a response, you may request an ISCAP review, if it is

within the Inter Service Classification Appeal Panel jurisdiction.

You could also ask for just the first 50 pages, whereby most reports, may have a