5 Replies Latest reply on Jun 8, 2021 8:47 AM by Elliot Schneider

Seeking military records of grandfather who served in the Army

Karen Kelm Wayfarer

How do I find military records of a man who served in the army but not during a war? My grandfather served in the American Army during the occupation of the Philippines, for 2 years, shortly before WWI. We have been unable to locate any records of his service, and have very little other information about him. His description of military service is one of the few leads we have to look for information about him. I have tried to look up the military involvement in the Philippines but I haven't found much. I am not sure even how to search; most of the military records I have found are from wartime service. I would appreciate learning of some other places to look or even keywords to use. I am new to the History Hub so perhaps the answers will be quite straightforward within this site, however, if anyone knows where to point me, I would appreciate some direction.

• Re: Seeking military records of grandfather who served in the Army
          Leo Belleville Wayfarer

Karen Kelm,

Thank you for posting your request on History Hub!