4 Replies Latest reply on Jun 1, 2021 9:16 AM by Elena Ion

Seeking informationa about american POW’s in romanian camps

Elena Ion Wayfarer

Hello! My name is Laura and I am an officer cadet in the Romanian Air Force Academy. I am writing my Master’s thesis based on Romanian WWII POW camps (treatement, accomodation, food, etc.) and I was wondering if you could help me with some information. I am looking for american POW’s stories, how they have been captured, released and their treatement here. If you need a clue for that, I can tell you that it all happened after the operation „Tidal Wave” and Bucharest bombings. Thank you in advance!

• Re: Seeking informationa about american POW’s in romanian camps
          Shane Bell Wayfarer

Dear Ms. Ion,

Thank you for posting your question on History Hub!

We searched the National Archives Catalog and located the series Subject Files, 1942 - 1946 in the

Records of the Office of the Provost Marshal General (Record Group 389) that include lists of American

POWs held by Germany which may include listings for those held in Romanian camps. You can search the catalog for “american pows held by germany” via this link: https://catalog.archives.gov/search?q=american%20pows%20held%20by%20germanyFor more information about the non-digitized records, please contact the National Archives at College Park - Textual Reference (RDT2) via email at archives2reference@nara.gov.