3 Replies Latest reply on Apr 30, 2021 4:06 PM by Michael Montespina

Urgent SF50 request. When should I hear a response from NPRC?

Michael Montespina Newbie

To give some background to this question. I am a veteran, former federal employee, and military spouse. I left government employment 2 years ago to accompany my spouse on orders. When I left a kept a copy of an SF50 I had acquired for a time-off award but it does not have information on my time in service or any of the GS levels I held before the award. Now HR is trying to figure out which GS level I would qualify for based on previous service but HR says the SF50 I have is not the complete version. I immediately sent a handwritten fax to NPRC with my:

- URGENT in fax title

- full name

- date of birth

- SSN

- name/location of the federal agency I used to work at

- my start of federal service

- the end of my federal service

- my mailing address

- my return fax number

- description of my situation

- the date I wrote and signed my request

- my signature

I have also left follow-up messages via phone to the NPRC in Valmeyer, IL.

I have sent my requests to a NPRC fax number I found on https://www.archives.gov/personnel-records-center/civilian-non-archival

I informed HR with the potential employer that I have sent a request and hope to receive it soon. However I do not know how long that might take, so this is a request for help, but also a legitimate question on when I could realistically expect a response with my SF50 form attached.

To summarize my questions:

How long is the turnaround time for an urgent records request?

Is there any reason why NPRC would not be authorized to respond to a request? i.e. form request not sent correctly

Is there another fax or phone number?

How long should one wait for before sending additional follow up?

Thank you to anyone who might respond to this.

• Re: Urgent SF50 request. When should I hear a response from NPRC?
          Jared Chamberlin Wayfarer