3 Replies Latest reply on Apr 14, 2021 1:57 PM by Jenny Sweeney

Philippine-American War veterans, volunteer soldiers and enlisted

Harry Tate Newbie

I am researching a family story that has been passed down through our family over the years.  I have been told that my grandfather served in the Philippine-American War.  William Dawson Tate born 13 Oct 1885 in Tracy City, Tennessee and died 5 Aug 1955 in Turlock, CA.  Math tells me that he would have been 15 to 16 years old if he indeed served during this time.  I am an Ancestry researcher and I examined the 1900 federal census and found that he does not show up with his parents and 3 younger siblings in the census.  In the 1930 federal census there is a section that asks if you are a veteran and William Dawson answers yes and it also asks which war and the abbreviation (Phil) shows up to this answer.  If he actually served he would have had to lie about his age, I assume, and that is why I am thinking he could have been with the voluntary soldiers that went to the Philippines.  From what I have been able to see on the National Archives I need to examine the Microfilm Publication M872 which is the index to compiled service records of voluntary soldiers in the Philippine-American War.  Also, I would like to examine Microfilm M871.  I sent this request to the National Archives but have not received a response, but there was an auto reply which suggested History Hub.

The big question is how would I go about obtaining copies of this microfilm.  Can I request copies or do I have to go to a location to view it?

• Re: Philippine-American War veterans, volunteer soldiers and enlisted
          Jenny Sweeney Newbie

Dear Mr. Tate,

You can find information on how to purchase digitized copies of microfilm here.  You should be able to purchase one roll or the whole publication for M871 and M872.