7 Replies Latest reply on Mar 27, 2021 4:29 PM by Metick Teeter

Seeking ancestors who fought in the American Revolutionary War

Metick Teeter Newbie

I am new to researching the archives and would like any suggestions on where to start. In particular I want to find out information about ancestors who fought in the American Revolution. Any suggestions?

• Re: Seeking ancestors who fought in the American Revolutionary War
          Elliot Schneider Pioneer

Metick,

Do you have anyone or any stories from family members passed down through the years.

Jason Atkinson Ranger

Dear Mr. Teeter,

Thank you for posting your request on History Hub!

Please review the National Archives topic page on The American Revolution for an overview of the records in National Archives custody that may be used to document individual service in the Continental Army and Navy during the American Revolution. For more information about these records, please contact National Archives at Washington, DC - Textual Reference (RDT1) at Archives1reference@nara.gov.

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic and pursuant to guidance received from the Office of Management and Budget (OMB), NARA has adjusted its normal operations to balance the need of completing its mission-critical work while also adhering to the recommended social distancing for the safety of NARA staff. As a result of this re-prioritization of activities, you may experience a delay in receiving an initial acknowledgement as well as a substantive response to your reference request from RDT1. We apologize for this inconvenience and appreciate your understanding and patience.

Additionally, please review Finding Your Revolutionary War Ancestor on the FamilySearch Wiki.

We hope this information is helpful. Best of luck with your research!

1 person found this helpful
              Marsha Van Ham Wayfarer

A confusing question needing more information:

1. Are you looking for a particular person?

2. Do you know where he was living at the time?